Le_recours_aux_forets13_tjv-380x250

The Wildflower

A man, both revolted and disillusioned engages on an extraordinary journey of discovery of himself through the sacred quest of mythical characters of the forest. His past love and a woman with poetic shamanic powers reveal troubling aspects of his personality which will lead him to love and to revelations.
The Wildflower is a paradigm of humanity and of myself, particularly as an artist. It is an exploration of the crisis within the human soul where the spiritual domains of dream and myth cure the wounded illusions of beauty’s wear.


Director’s statement of purpose

A visual poem by Carolyn Carlson

Dance allows me to express myself artistically and poetically. The film, The Wildflower, creates a spatiotemporal dimension thanks to unique gestures of the dancers. Gestures that trigger emotions, spiritual perceptions of the heart and mind, through the energy of the dance movements, in an imaginative visualization.kieffer 2

In the “Carlsonian” dance style, dreams and revelations have always been a manifestation of my visual poetry. With our evanescent personalities, I think we also belong to the cosmic realms which include a non-linear experience of the vision of a world where myths and poetry are unique to each one of us.

My work as a choreographer consists of sharing the evolution of my experiments which show us another way of seeing our own nature, processed by our thoughts, throwing us into the mystery of ourselves and in timelessness…

It is also uniting what life has separated! That is my work as a creator of images.

“The Wildflower” is a tale of initiation, a Homeric poem…

Le_recours_aux_forets10_tjvJuha, our hero, undergoes a process of transformation. We do not know how long his awakening will take as he is in the present time. He doesn’t reject the dark and mysterious side of life, but takes into account, at each stage of the story, his primeval state of mind of a lost and rebellious character. Juha ends up understanding that one has to go through profound experiences of death and terror to reach the knowledge of redemption and gratitude.

The story -“poem for a life”- will remind the audience of things they had forgotten, or never known. In clarity and vision, our hero will start to know himself, in the myth of a universal symbol, in the conscience of a man, forever searching.

ophelia

In his naiveté and melancholy, my hero (a reflection of myself), goes through dreadful and mysterious ordeals throughout the film, taking great risks as he moves between reality and dreams.
The other characters allow him to penetrate their open scars since they have also lived the process of suffering and transformation to become what they are.

Carolyn Carlson, 2018

“Man is a mystery to himself, and all humankind is based on the reverence for the mystery that is man.”

Thomas Mann in The Magic Mountain, 1924.


Interpretation by 40 dancers and actors. Coproduction Portrait & Cie / Flair Production / Carolyn Carlson Company

Le_recours_aux_forets13_tjv

The Wildflower

Carolyn Carlson met en scène l’extraordinaire voyage d’un rebelle confronté aux aspects terrifiants de lui-même, qui le conduisent enfin à l’amour. Premier long métrage de la chorégraphe, coécrit avec Damian Pettigrew et Anne-Louise Trividic, The Wildflower est un paradigme de l’humanité et de l’artiste, une exploration de la crise au cœur de l’âme humaine où le mythe et les rêves guérissent des illusions blessées…


Note d’intention de la Réalisatrice

Un poème visuel par Carolyn Carlson

La danse me permet de m’exprimer artistiquement et poétiquement. Le film « The Wildflower » (fleur sauvage) crée une dimension spatio-temporelle grâce aux gestes uniques des danseurs. Des gestes qui engendrent des émotions, des perceptions spirituelles du cœur et de l’esprit, grâce à l’énergie des mouvements de la danse, dans une visualisation imaginative.kieffer 2

Dans le style de danse « Carlsonien », les rêves et les révélations ont toujours été une manifestation de ma poésie visuelle. Dans nos personnalités volatiles, je crois que nous appartenons aussi aux royaumes cosmiques qui incluent une expérience non linéaire de la vision d’un monde où les mythes et la poésie sont uniques à chacun.

Mon travail en tant que chorégraphe est de partager l’évolution de mes expériences qui nous montrent une autre façon de voir notre propre nature, à travers le processus de nos pensées, nous plongeant dans le mystère de nous-mêmes et dans l’intemporalité…

C’est aussi réunir ce que la vie a séparé ! C’est mon travail en tant que créatrice d’images.

« The Wildflower » est une histoire d’initiation, un poème homérique…

Le_recours_aux_forets10_tjvJuha, notre héros, subit un processus de transformation. On ne sait pas combien de temps son éveil va prendre pour se réaliser puisqu’il est dans le temps présent. Il ne méprise pas le côté sombre et mystérieux de la vie, mais il tient compte à chaque épisode de son état d’esprit originel de personnage perdu et rebelle. Juha en vient à comprendre qu’il faut passer par de profondes expériences de la mort et de la terreur pour arriver à la connaissance de la rédemption et de la reconnaissance.

L’histoire-« poème pour une vie » va rappeler au spectateur les choses qu’il a oubliées, ou jamais connues. Dans la clarté et la vision, notre héros commence à se connaître lui-même, dans le mythe d’un symbole universel, dans la conscience d’un homme, l’éternel chercheur.

ophelia

La naïveté et la mélancolie de mon héros, (le reflet de moi-même) passent à travers des épreuves épouvantables et mystérieuses dans le film « The Wildflower », en prenant de grands risques puisqu’il évolue entre le rêve et la réalité. Les autres personnages lui permettent de pénétrer dans leurs cicatrices ouvertes, puisqu’ils ont aussi vécu dans le processus de la souffrance et de la transformation pour devenir qui ils sont.

Carolyn Carlson, 2018

« Pour l’homme, lui-même est un mystère, et toute l’humanité repose sur la révérence devant le mystère qu’est l’homme. »

Thomas Mann dans Magic Mountain, 1924.


Interprété par 40 danseurs et acteurs. Coproduction Portrait & Cie / Flair Production / Carolyn Carlson Company

Tournage à partir du printemps 2019. Sortie prévue à l’automne 2020